About The Lord's Church

Its Founder: Jesus Christ (Mat. 16:18).

Its Beginning: On the first Pentecost after the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus (Acts 1-2; 11:15).

Its Names: Several names are used in the New Testament, such as: churches of Christ (Rom. 16:16), church of God (1 Cor. 1:2), and church of the First-born (Heb. 12:23). All of the names indicate that the church belongs to Christ, and any of them may be used when referring to the church. Division was condemned, and denominations did not exist in the time of the apostles.

Its Organization: In the New Testament church there was no earthly head office and each congregation was independent. There were elders, who are also called bishops or presbyters, who were responsible for the oversight of the local congregation. Working with the elders are the deacons who are responsible for specific tasks under the elders oversight. See 1 Tim. 3; Titus 1; Acts 20:28-31; Heb. 13:7, 17; and 1 Pet. 5:1-4.

Its Mission: To preach the gospel so that souls may be saved. The church takes the gospel to those that have not heard, so that they might have an opportunity to obey. It also teaches, encourages, exhorts, and chastises those who are Christians so that they might grow and mature spiritually (Mat. 28:18-20; Mark 16:15-16; Rom. 1:16; 2 Tim. 2:15; 3:14-17; 2 Pet. 1:1-11).